Writing Apps for the iPad – review

Posted on January 12, 2011

0



(Post typed on an iPad in the sprit of the
post)
The iPad is not (only) a gaming platform.
Games do dominate the top 25 apps on iTunes. But I believe that it
can be benefit for writers and creative types that need a little
more mobility that an iPad provides. For me, I am addicted to
writing apps. It seems that I have bought or downloaded a ton of
writing apps. So I wanted to review a few of them. So this will be
a series of posts (that will force me to actually use these apps).
So if you have an app you want me to review, post it in the
comments. So today’s three apps:

Notebooks for
iPad

iTunes
Link
Notebooks is very underrated. You can write notes
and place them into different categories. There is a lot to like.
You can change fonts and sizes. You can email or upload to dropbox
(although I had some trouble logging into Dropbox when I tried with
the app). You can export to iTunes file sharing, but you have to
specific send it. That would be the only functional negative. With
other apps, you can automatically upload it to the cloud. But with
Notebooks, you have to specific which files get synced (I believe).
The second negative is the price. ($8.99 is STEEP). The price alone
could make this a “Don’t Buy” for a lot of people. I don’t remember
paying $8.99 for the app. But I might have. Oh well, I’ve already
spent it :). Notebooks was hidden in my iPad screen for a long
time, but I can see myself using it.

Chronicle for
iPad

iTunes
Link
The good about
Chroncle:
It is like a journal. You can have
multiple entries on a specific day. If you are doing an journal
organized by date, then this would be very good. For example, if
you have a blog and you want to write and you don’t have wifi, then
it is a good way to organize you thoughts. But there are better and
cheaper text editors for the iPad. You can insert pictures.
Although without a camera on the iPad, you would have to import
photos and them insert them into the app. The bad:
But it was not really inuitive to expand them on the
page. You can backup to Dropbox. It doesn’t have the functionally
to bold text or enlarge text. It opens a plan text editor and you
work in. It’s not an everyday app. It is only something you can use
doing certain things. It’s very good in very specific things. But I
can see why people would like it. It’s $2.99, so the price is
pretty average for an iPad writing app.

SketchPad
HD

iTunes
link
Don’t buy SketchPad unless you are someone who likes
to draw on their iPad. You can draw with either with your finger or
a stylus. It’s not great for typing. But it is good if you want to
do visual notes or want to experiment with it. Me, as a former
debater, I am pretty good at typing while listening to someone
speak and picking up on everything they say. Doesn’t support
Dropbox, but you can email it or save it to your photo album.
Visual Notes – Yes. Typing – Probably not. I am person who loves
the idea of making visual notes. But the not being able to draw
puts a damper on that. It is a $0.99 app. So it would not break the
bank to try out.

Posted in: App Review, Internet, iPad