How to Opt-Out of Facebook Instant Personalization Settings

Posted on April 30, 2010

0


Cliffs Notes version:Facebook.com → Account → Privacy Settings → Applications and Websites → Instant Personalization → Uncheck Allow.

Here is the long version:

To Opt-Out of the default settings, log onto your account and click on “Account” at the top right. It should bring up this menu and click on privacy settings:

This should be the next screen. So click on Applications and Websites:

On this screen, click on Edit Settings on Instant Personalization:

Then uncheck “Allow”. It is checked by default on every account. NOTE: Facebook will tell you that you can click “No Thanks” on every website with this function. Also after you uncheck it, it will give your a nag screen just to make sure you know what you are doing.

That’s it.

Now, a few more notes: First, just because you do it, it does not mean your information will not be shared. If a friend has not turned off the default, then your information can still be send to a third-party. So make sure you have edited your other Facebook privacy settings.

Second, you can block each Application that partners with Facebook. No matter what you choose to share, it is good to know your privacy settings.

Advertisements
Posted in: Facebook, Internet