YouTube Tells You About Your Internet Connection

Posted on February 28, 2010

0


No clue if this is a new service or I just found out about it. But there is a page on YouTube that tells your Internet’s speed.

They call is “YouTube Video Speed History“.

According to YouTube,

it shows the past video speeds of YouTube videos you watched from your location (your current browser at your current IP address). It also shows aggregate video speed by other users in your city, state, country, and worldwide.

Also

By making the video speed history data available, we hope to better inform you of speed issues as they relate to your viewing experience, and give you the ability to compare your speed numbers with other users in your region.

For me, it tells me that my home service through Comcast is superfast (It better be, I pay enough for it). It also tells me that it is way above my city, state, and national average.

It also tells me that a public wireless service at my coffee shop is well below average.

So if you want a fast and pretty accurate count of how fast you are, YouTube can tell you.

Posted in: Internet