Using Google Docs to post “living documents”

Posted on February 18, 2010

0


I have been intrigued with the idea of posting materials from Google Docs for my students. My main job is a college instructor and changing documents at my university’s CMS (course management system) is iffy at best.

So I have been trying to find an alternative. I just did not know how to publish Google Docs so that it had its own URL.

The Google forums had my answer:

1. From Google Docs, you look for the “Share” button on the right of the screen. It looks like this

2.  This screen should come up:

3. I would click on “Publish as web page” and I get this:

4. I click on “Publish Document” and “Automatically re-publish when changes are made”.

This gives me a permanent URL that I can give to students. Anyone can now print this or copy/paste it into Word themselves.

Tagged:
Posted in: Internet