Ipod touch 3.1.1 cannot connect to wireless networks

Posted on September 20, 2009

1


When the new iPod Touch update came out, I instantly got it. I think I received it by accident. I say that because I do not think I was charged the $5 which Apple is charging for Touch owners.

However, when I downloaded and installed the update, I found that it would not connect to wireless networks. When I tried to connect with my home wireless network, it refused to connect. I tried everything including resetting the iPod through iTunes. Nothing worked.

This was the fix for me. I finally found “Reset Network Settings” on the iPod itself. After clicking that options, I found the home network and logged on with no problem. I read that others had this issue as well so I thought I would walk people through the solution that worked for me.

NOTE: I do not know if this will work on the iPhone or earlier versions of the Touch. I would try this if your machine is having similar issues to see if it works for you.

First, you have to find the “Reset Network Settings” option on the Touch. From the main screen, you click on “Settings”

004

Then, on my Touch, you go to “General”.

003

Then (on my Touch) you find the “Reset” option.

002 copy

Finally, you should see “Reset Network Settings”. It could be different on your Touch (for some reason). But the option you definitely want is “Reset Network Settings”.

001

For some reason, “Erase All Settings” did not work for me and I did not want to erase all of the content because I was not sure I could get everything back.

But it got me on the Internet and I have no problem since. Apple will likely correct this in a patch and I will update you if I hear anything.

Posted in: Cell Phones, Internet