The Quest for Better Cell Phone Photos

Posted on August 19, 2009

0


I am always looking for better ways to take pictures on my cell phone. I am okay (not even close to being an expert) with real cameras. But when it comes to cell phones, I always seem to take average pictures.

So for today’s post, I will give two websites that have greatly increased the quality of my cell phone photos. They have gone from awful to average, on a good day. Maybe I’ll be brave enough to find some to post on this page today or tomorrow.

The most consistent tips:

– Get close
– Keep the lens clean
– Turn off the zoom
– Keep the camera steady

I am sure there are others, but these are two of the pages that helped me the most:

Geek to Live: Take better cameraphone photos

How To Take Better Photos With Camera Cellphone

The last link are some great examples of cell phone photos from readers of the New York Times. Basically, it is what I want my photos to be. I noticed that a lot of the best ones were taken with an iPhone.

Look in the photos section in the coming days for my horrible cell photos.

